Learning by doing: writing a mini OS for a Z80 based system - looking for HOWTOs and advices

Hi,

as a project to improve my skills, I would like to try and write a small operating system for a Z80 based computer (ZX Spectrum). Because I have no formal computer science education (I am a kind of self-taught bedroom coder, mostly demoscene oriented), I am missing quite a few concepts in this field which I feel I should learn. I would be really thankful if you have any advice and/or documentation I should go through before I start to write anything.

As for my idea, I am thinking rather small. Here is what I am NOT trying to achieve:

• multitasking
  • GUI
  • compatibility with any existing software

I am interested in some simple text-based console for running programs, possibly with arguments, kind of CP/M style. I would like to be able to switch between the OS and program(s) running - when I switch back to the OS, the program will be stopped in the background and would continue to run once switched back to it (I hope this make any sense). All the I/O should be implemented as a part of the OS and programs should use system calls to use it.

The platform would be ZX Spectrum 128K, here is a brief description:

• there is always ROM paged-in at #0000 - #3FFF
  • there is always screen memory paged-in at #4000 - #5AFF
  • rest of the RAM is free to use
  • next memory can be paged-in in 16kiB blocks at #C000 #FFFF

For a storage, at the beginning I could use the ROM (so basically a TAPE) as it is fast in an emulator, later I would switch to use the divIDE (an IDE interface). In both cases I don’t have to care about implementing a filesystem (I would just call the EsxDOS services in divIDE).

At this point I am not 100% sure where to even start - should I think about some basic features of the kernel now or should I start with the text console and build the things around that? Too many questions at the moment.