Laser LT321 - Just add electricity

Hello all. I’ve recently reacquired a Laser LT321 laptop as my parents have been clearing their loft. The nostalgia reflex has kicked in but sadly the power supply has not turned up.
The label on the back states AC Adaptor 20V 1A.
There is a DC port on the back but I don’t recognise the standard, though I am no expert.
Do any of you gurus have any advice on how to get this machine running, even temporarily?

1 Like

Uuuu! That’s a nice gem you’ve got there. My oldest laptop in my small collection is a Toshiba Satellite 200CDS, but yours takes the cake!

I would not recommend tinkering with power adaptations to it unless you know what you’re doing. I was able to find here an image of the back of the power supply and fortunately it has a diagram of the power pins.

It seems to have a 6 pin plug marked with

Battery (+) COM +20V
No connection COM On/OFF

Please, please have this confirmed, but as far as I can gather:

• the Battery pin provides power to recharge the battery it is used in conjuncture with one of the COM pins which I gather means ground;
  • COM - ground reference (-)
  • +20V - here you need to provide the +20V. Make sure the power source provides at least 1 amp for that voltage rating. More amps are ok, since the device will take what it needs. Having less, is bad.
  • No connection is probably a fancy way of saying that pin is not used and you can ignore it.
  • On/Off - That may be a signal pin that turns on or off the laptop. Maybe a power management feature?

Regardless, the way I see it you have two options of having the laptop work:

1. have a 20V power supply feed the +20 and a COM port. Not sure about the On/Off pin;
  2. supply power to the battery pins which are exposed on the back of the laptop.

Very important for option 2, you need to identify the correct polarity of those pins and the voltage will definitely NOT be 20V. Given that era, I’d expect 12V.