IBM 5110 help please

Merry Christmas. I’m a new member joined today. I have managed to purchased IBM 5110 few weeks back. It has been sitting in an attic for so many years of the previous owner. I gave it a good bit of clean and checked inside before turning on. I’m not computer geek but I have some knowledge of computer and technology. Beyond safe side I have checked and then turn the unit on. It’s started with fan spinning noice but nothing on the screen. Then I test the switches on the front panel and still nothing on the screen. I left it running for about 15-20 minutes and still no display. I was wondering if any one can assist me on how to get it working/ to identify the fault? I really appreciate any input. Thank you in advanced

2 Likes

Welcome! I will guess that you’ll get useful feedback if you post over on VCFed forums - many more machine-specific enthusiasts over there.

However, I see from the System Maintenance Analysis Procedures manual, in the 0900 section, that you should get characters on the screen some 25 seconds after power up:

So, if your system is in the best possible state, it might only be the CRT that’s not working. Perhaps you have an oscilloscope and can see if there’s a video signal from the BNC connector?

There’s a thread over on VCFed about a CRT problem:

I would think it fairly likely that there are other faults - I would suppose checking the voltages from the PSU would be a good start. Perhaps there is a CPU clock signal that can be checked, or address lines which can be probed. There’s usually a great deal to know, and it’s all very machine-specific.

(The Computer Maintenance Information manual might be helpful.)

2 Likes

Thank you for the info EDs, really appreciated.