Found old Sun SPARC hardware in my father's basement

My father recently passed away. He had a serious collection of old SPARC systems (workstations and “pizza box” servers mostly). I’m just looking for resources on what operating systems I can run on them and resources for hardware.

The systems I’m most interested in getting working are an ultra 10 work station (400ish mhz chip and 2 gigs of ram!) As it was one of the first UNIX computers I worked on professionally. The ultra 10 also used off the shelf memory, and had a pci bus, so it should be the easiest to start with since I can use a lot of old PC parts.
I also have Sunfire 120 I’d like to get working as I worked on a horde of web servers running on these systems in the early 2000s. There are also a bunch of others dating back to the earliest SPARC systems of the 80s I’d like to play with.

I’m sorry if the post is vauge or off topic and I’m new to retro computing and looking for a good place to start.

3 Likes

I’m not sure what the state of play for Linux is on SPARC these days, but NetBSD has a … “fetish” :slight_smile: for supporting older hardware, so that’s probably a safer bet. NetBSD/sparc Supported Hardware

Yeah way back when I still worked on SPARC I’d run netBSD on cast offs. Didn’t know it was still supported. I’m just wondering if there’s any way to get a hold of old Solaris, 8 or 9 for the ultra, and the Sunfire was 10 for sure (it tells me so on boot before it hangs). Not against running netBSD, I’d just like to get the full nostalgia seeing CDE show up on it again!

Ah sorry, I misunderstood “looking for resources on what operating systems I can run on them”. I guess the best bet is hoping someone here still has the install media for the hardware in question (I used to have some Sun kit and install CDs, but long gone now).