Feedback/suggestions on the architecture of the Continuum 93 fantasy computer

Hi there,

Last year I was tempted to purchase the computer I started programming on in my childhood. It was a HC2000, a romanian clone of the ZX spectrum, 48k basic, floppy disk. I loved that machine and now they are extremely rare to come by. I struggled a lot, because the price was high. While, yes, I could afford it, I was quite torn between owning it, knowing I won’t do much with it, rather than play some old games now and then. So, after quite a bit of soul searching, I decided not to buy it, and instead chose to create a fantasy computer inspired by it. The aim of it is to function pretty much in the spirit of the original, but with some improved features, with the ability to write code easily, debug easily and eventually have a wrapper so people can release games and applications made with it.

Right now it’s a Windows exclusive, but I have plans to also be able to easily deploy it onto Mac, Linux and quite a few single board computers, such as raspberry pi’s and others, through a host lightweight OS.

So, in the last quarter of 2022, I started putting it together, as an emulator written in C# with MonoGame. So, behold! Continuum 93 is now in its infancy. A 30 Mhz single core CPU with a full set of proprietary assembly instructions (clearly inspired by the Z80 set), with 16 MB of RAM, but able to manipulate 8 bit, 16 bit, 24 bit and 32 bit registers, separate stacks for calls and registers (that have their own memory) and multiple register pages. The video architecture is a 480x270 pixels 8bbp organized on separate layers (able to set up from 1 layer up to 8 layers, each one with a 256 colors configurable palette). Yes, it is primarily designed for retro games.

The development of it is at a slow-relaxed pace, but I’d like to create a good backlog of features/additions to it.