Z80 Retro Musings

Finding my old MPF-1 Z80 trainer system has got me thinking again about the machines from that 8-bit era.

The Z80 and the 6502 were the “go to solution” for most of the home micros of the 1978-1984 time period.

I grew up with a RM-380Z, various Sinclair machines, a Jupiter Ace, and a Tatung Einstein (cp/m machine). Almost all were bought at the end of their life-cycle - because I was a poor student in those days.

The Z80 was sometimes used because it gave direct access to cp/m - but on the Sinclair and later Amstrad machines, it was popular because it allowed DRAM to be refreshed with almost no additional hardware - leading to very economical designs.

This makes me wonder if there is any unexplored territory in some of these Z80 designs.

In recent years there have been some recreations of early Z80 machines - Tynemouth Software produces a pcb and kit for a Sinclair ZX80 replicant - called the Minstrel.

Grant Searle has done a lot to popularise the Z80 with his 7-chip minimum solution, and Spencer Owen with his RC2014 kit is now the world’s leading supplier of Z80 based systems!

So this got me thinking about revisiting the Z80 hardware - and whether something new could be done.

Many of the early Sinclair machines used a lot of Z80 machine cycles to create the video display, in TTL with the ZX80, and then with various Ferranti ULAs in the ZX81 and Spectrum.

Decoupling the Z80 from the overhead of updating the display could make for quite a powerful machine.

(At least) Two ideas spring to mind: