Radio Rallies and Hamfests

Continuing the discussion from Source of Parts:

Good point! We seem to call them Radio Rallies in the UK (here’s a list) - myself, @Revaldinho and @hoglet went to two this year. It seems the pickings are more slim as the years go by, but I got a book or two and we got a couple of nice small cubic Philips CRT monitors between us. And I got a mystery 6502 rackmount thing(*). And @hoglet no doubt got a good haul of bargains, because he generally does! In past years we’ve got a power supply, an oscilloscope or two, a logic analyser (if I’m not wrong), a multimeter, a bunch of 3" floppies (for Amstrad), various components and supplies (some desoldering braid for example) and various books and manuals.

Some photos:

(*) Turns out to be a Utah Scientific audiovisual broadcast control panel, CSP-40/4.

2 Likes

I bought my first IBM XT clone at a hamfest. Bought it to run a BBS. Circa 1985. I had been running it under CP/M for a few years prior to that.

Here in the US, AV gear is at hamfests by the truckload – both pre-digital equipment that is now thoroughly obsolete for commercial purposes, and early digital equipment that for whatever reason has not kept up. I don’t know what most of it is, so I just walk on by, but I’m sure there are gems.

Where hamfests really shine is test equipment. It’s hard to justify buying old test equipment in a lot of ways when the new low end equipment has gotten so affordable, but for those of us on this forum, justifying buying old stuff is probably not a problem. :wink: