Questions for VMS experts

The wider question: where would one look at these days for VMS documentation online?

The more precise question: I would like to read about its ABI design, how it managed to stay stable across operating system releases, across multiple architectures, and across multiple languages. Calling modules compiled with Pascal from C or Cobol, no problem.

My personal relationship to VMS for always curiousness, compared to the minimalist UNIX it certainly looked way more complex, but looking at the walls of orange/grey manual folders it was obviously well documented, and from my quick browsing (and I was a wee systems programmer at that point) it looked well designed and solidly built.

I found the 1985
VMS Language and Tools Handbook (261 page PDF)
and it makes reference to the VAX Calling Standard and the Guide to Modular Procedures, which might be good terms to look for.

The VAX Calling Standard, the Guide to Modular Procedures, and the VAX Condition and Exception Handling Standard are the basis of the VAX Common Language Environment. The calling standard defines the mechanisms for passing arguments between program modules, The Guide to Modular Procedures provides a consistent set of software programming pragmatics, and the Condition and Exception Handling Standard defines the mechanisms that ensure consistency in error and exception handling routines, regardless of the mix of programming languages in use. For example, in no other program development system on the market today, can you write a program module in Basic that calls another module in written FORTRAN and then calls a math routine written in Pascal - all in one Ada program.

Edit: this leads us to Macro Made Easy:

Edit: VMS diagram from the Handbook (page 27) includes the RTL (run time library) which might be of relevance…

1 Like

Mentioned in the Macro article:
Introduction to VMS System Routines (151 page PDF, 1990)